Parsing of 2 byte parameters [obsolete]

Hi, I 'm on the last hurdle of parsing the Korg 03 R/W preset:
I need to parse the following: fx parameters that are sent in two bytes:

• An LSB of which bit 0-7 are used
  • An MSB of which bit 0-7 are used

The values must be parsed as follows:

• If the MSB equals anything between 0 and 3 then value = LSB + 128*MSB (numbers 0-511)
  • If the MSB equals 127 then value = LSB - 128 (number -128 to -1)

Any fx parameter can be in any of the 2 cases. What is the best method to do this? Intermediate virtual controls? Can it be done simpler?

A bit of a disappointment here: I studied the sysex docs of the 03R/W and found there is no fixed relationship between the parameters on their own (as sent in the parameter change messages) and the numbering in the buffer dump! In other words the parameter tied to control 112 has a fixed relationship now with the identifier used in the Parameter Change Message but a variable relationship towards up to 8 different bytes in the Buffer Dump Message.

What can be done, is setting up 16 virtual and hidden controllers each receiving one of those bytes (8 bytes for 2 fx) and then use yet another array to map them to the 14 visible controllers. Yep you read it right: 16 bytes in the Dump, 14 parameters in total, using 28 bytes in Parameter Change.

Knowing I’m on the edge of the memory I’m seriously wondering if it is worth the effort.

Anyway the original question is obsolete for this challenge.

One thing to always keep in mind - the people that developed the hardware are using software to send/receive/process the MIDI data. They need to absolutely know the relationship between the data flowing in and out and the parameters inside the machine.