Pitch Bend

I don’t think Electra currently supports pitch bend.

Pitch pend is sometimes used as a controller to give finer control over something.

Example.

In Logic Pro X I can’t seem to find a way of mapping anything other than CC7 messages to controls within logic. For the most part thats fine

But having only 127 values for something like a volume fader isn’t really granular enough.

Logic Pro X though will map volume to Pitch Bend messages as this is something that is used by the Mackie Control Protocol

At the moment I’m trying to use an Electra 1 in preference to a Behringer XTouch to control Logic

Maybe worth considering for a future update

1 Like

Glad you asked this. I’m a rank beginner with the electra.one, and fumbling about trying to figure stuff out. I was about to ask this - not only pitch bend, but also aftertouch - any midi message that isn’t one of the numerical ones. I guess velocity would be useful also. I’ve been trying to get pitch bend to work with midi learn, but nothing at all happens. Same with aftertouch. And I don’t see any mention of these in the docs, so I’m guessing that these messages aren’t recognized?

To be fair I can get why Pitchbend and Aftertouch are ommitted, they’re performance controls rather than programming controls both are generally used to modulate something else on a synth - with aftertouch that’s usually the filter and with electra you can already alter the filter so long as its exposed some way via Midi.

My particular use case is that Pitchbend is used by the Mackie Control Protocol as a high resolution method of controlling faders. Most DAWs have at least a rudimentary implementation of Mackie Control Protocol.