Ubuntu/Chrome connection problem

Hi.

So I have my Electra mk2, it’s connected with the supplied USB cable and I’m running Linux OS Elementary 6.1 with Chrome as the browser. I’ve run amidi -l in the terminal and the electra ctrl port shows up, I can select electra ctrl in Chrome where it says to select the ports manually but that’s as far as I can get, nothing else happens. The E1 appears responsive to knob movement.

Where do I go from here? Thanks

1 Like

Hi @stratblue,

some Linux distros keep the limit of the max size of sysex messages very low. I suspect it might be the problem. To start, you might want to increase that limit. You can do that by reloading the snd_seq_midi module with new buffer settings. There are more ways to do that this is one of them. Using sudo or as root run the following commands:

rmmod snd_seq_midi
modprobe snd_seq_midi output_buffer_size=262144

Let me know if it helped.

Hey Martin.

I’m new to Linux so I could easily get stuff wrong, I ran both those as sudo but no change.

Chrome Version 114.0.5735.90 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

1 Like

Do you have a chance to connect the unit to other computer that runs windows or macos? Just to confirm that the controller works fine. Then we know that it is something related to Linux.

I have a spare Intel NUC here. I can try to install Elementary 6.1 on it and give it a try by myself. Not sure if I squeeze it in today, but during the weekend for sure.

I do believe that @C0d3man got it working on Linux. @C0d3man: is that correct?

You can also send me my Mk2 and I can help testing… :innocent: (I’m using Ubuntu 99% of the time and I have a Windows partition just in case.)

1 Like

I can connect from a Mac but it says it needs newer firmware (3.2), when I press ‘update firmware’ it wants to connect to a HID device but says ’ no compatible devices found’. Chrome on Monterey.

One more thing you can try: