Ableton live midi remote feedback problem

Hello !

I’m having an issue with midi remote feedback in Ableton live and wondering if anyone using the E1 has had a similar problem. I considered posting a message on the Ableton forum, but it’s such a mess, and the bug report system will take a few months to give me an answer (if any…). So I’ll try my luck here ! :grinning:

I have a pretty complex Ableton project to play live. And I use a few midi controllers connected to a Macbook pro.
Midi in/out is setup to receive remote midi feedback and reflect the state of the Ableton project on the E1 as soon as I load my Ableton project. I’ve been using this system for a few years (with the E1 for over a year).

But I’ve discovered these last few days that certain controls on the E1 don’t update anymore when I load the Ableton project…

I used “Midi monitor” to inspect the midi data being dumped to the E1 when I load the Ableton project. And apparently Live is missing certain controls. I can force a new dump by entering midi learn mode, and when coming out of midi learn, Ableton sends a new dump of the controls to the connected midi controllers. It will update some controls that it missed the first time, but even if I force 10 dumps, I’ll never get all the E1 controls to fully reflect the state of the Ableton project.

By looking closer at the dump, I discovered that Ableton is sending certain control messages many times instead of the missing ones.

All this is very random, it’s not one specific CC being a problem. And on a new fresh project they seem to work nicely. I’m wondering if it’s a case of having built too much on the same Ableton project file and having issues because of that ? Any ideas ? Anybody had a similar issue ?

I have to say, that the E1 is a GREAT controller, but not having a reliable total recall system is really problematic. Especially with over 400 controls mapped in a project !