Help with clock sync, please :)

Hi.

I want to use e1 to control parameters on octatrack and rytm and be in clock sync. Later add a roland tb03. The octatrack is master clock at the moment. When I put e1 midi out to octatrack midi in and octatrack midi out to rytm midi in, it syncs the clock and I can control only the octatrack’s parameters. When I put e1 midi out to octatrack midi in and octatrack midi thru to to rytm midi in, I can control both machine’s parameters but the rytm doesn’t clock sync. I can’t find a way to have them clock synced and control both machines parameters. I’m a bit new to midi! Any help would be gratefully received after a whole day of getting nowhere!

I had a similar situation where my Electron boxes were not forwarding CC messages in the MIDI out.

It’s annoying when you don’t want to mess with MIDI tracks.

Bwhat I ended up doing was to get a Blokas Midihub.

The Midihub is a programmable MIDI router/processor with 4 inputs and 4 outputs.

The ports are labelled from A to D.

You would connect your Octatrack’s MIDI in and out to output and input A on the Midihub.

You would connect the MIDI in of your Rhythm to output B.

You would connect additional devices devices that should be clock-synced to the C and D output.

Would connect a MIDI out from the E1 to input B.

You could then configure the Midihub to take the clock input from input A and send it to outputs B, C and D.

You could also configure it to take the CC messages from input B and send it to all the outputs.

You could also do some optimisations, like using different channels for CC messages, so that every message that should target a specific device has the same channel, and then filter out the irrelevant channels via the Midihub when you send CC to a specific output.

Thanks very much for that. Appreciate it. Will look into all that, thank you very much!