Where do I begin? Maximising the Electra One's Capabilities

I have owned the Electra One for a while now and there’s usually a few roadblocks I come up against when trying to complete presets.
It seems that in order to get the maximum use out of the device it is necessary to have more technical knowledge than I currently have. I have some knowledge of MIDI but not much beyond that.

Would anyone be able to give me a distinct learning path to get me up to speed? I see the Lua scripting language mentioned a lot. I’m guessing that’s part of it. Are there any other essential topics to learn? What would be the best order to learn them in?

Thank you.

2 Likes

What devices are you trying to talk to with the Electra One?

That would help give some context so you could get more immediately useful info.

Not to hijack the thread, but I have (or will have) the same concerns as the OP, except I don’t have one yet and am about to join in the pre-order. For me the only hardware I’d use it with is an old Kawai K3m & and Alesis Micron. But I think most of my use for it is really for softsynths like GForce’s OB-E, Pigments, Korg’s lineup, especially OpSix/Wavestate & Collection, etc. I even thought about jumping into videoplayback like Resolume.
I used to be technical, then as I got older I seem to have gotten technologically stupider, so I hope the Electra won’t be too complicated for me. Not a whole lotta vids are out there it seems, for newbies like me. Guess remember how to read manuals again :grimacing:

2 Likes

One of the reasons for asking is that a lot of softsynths let you use a Learn type function to more easily map hw controls to parameters.

The Micron has an Electra One preset created and I thought someone was working on a Kawai one as well.

The updates that Martin had been doing to the E1 and the web GUI have really improved the ease of use and speed of developing new presets.